FIRST FLOWER

FIRSTLILYI have to thank an unlikely lush, green friend by the porch door for teaching me a lesson today.

King Lily, as I call it, is a tall, prolific plant that is the first of its kind in that garden to bloom each year. I love it so much I wait patiently, expectantly, all June.

The vigil ended yesterday as the first amazing orange flower emerged from a cluster of buds. I was so happy I meant to go get my phone for a picture, but I got sidetracked, and forgot.

Until this morning, when I raced outside to find the bloom curled and dying.

Day lilies are notoriously cruel to the people who love them, because they arrive magnificently in a sweeping moment, and then, just as quickly, are gone.

Twenty-four hours makes such a difference in the garden – and in life.

I’ve been writing about a young filmmaker whose movie, called “One Day,” just won the Cannes Film Festival. It depicts the lives of two very different men and how something one of them does for the other is life-changing.

What it comes down to is the moment, and if you’re smart, you are in it. Hesitate, and you are soon out of luck, wasting your time thinking and analyzing and considering and obsessing. You wait? You lose. End of story.

I was talking with a friend the other day who is struggling with some stuff. My advice was to let the heart lead the way. The harder job, though, is to listen to it.

That’s what I’m trying to remember, whether in big decisions that involve more risk, or in little ones, like capturing a flower’s image before it fades. I’m not always successful, believe me.

Today was tough. I was so crushed by stress coming at me from all sides I couldn’t summon up instinct, trust, or heart – or much of anything helpful at all.

But then I noticed that King Lily has another flower ready to bloom. And there are a handful of buds behind that one. So, I may have missed my moment yesterday, and today wasn’t so great, but tomorrow has all the potential to be better.

I am taking deep breaths and shaking it all off, thankful there’s always another chance to get it right if I just listen to what I know to be true, and act.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

