FOCUSING inward

Photo courtesy of Exceptional Living.One of the things I loved most about my dad was how he said yes to life on a daily basis. By being on the lookout for new experiences. Taking adventurous leaps into the unknown. And consciously deciding to open himself to people who he thought might play a key role on his personal path.

I loved how he tried, with every ounce of his being, to put himself out there. Just to see what would happen. As a result of living fully, he is remembered for being a good man who made a difference.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately as my life has taken a shift in this same direction. As I’ve written, I had an epiphany recently that will guide my days ahead, realizing that this is the only life I will know, and I am determined to live it in the best, kindest, and most aware way I can.

It’s exciting to face my present and future with open arms, ready to embrace what comes to me. I am hoping there will be a lot of good.

As Mindy has also written, I really believe that much of our path is predetermined and opportunities, experiences, and especially people come to us when we need them. Some are just meant to be there.

I used to feel I was powerless, though, to control how that would all play out. After all, I can’t make other peoples’ decisions for them (try as I might!) They have to live their own lives.

But I’m not so sure anymore. I read something today that affected me by the Brazilian writer Paulo Coelho, who said God gives us a moment every day when it is possible to override anything that is causing us unhappiness. He calls it the magic moment where a “yes” or a “no” can change our whole existence if we are only lucky enough to recognize it.

“Every day, we try to pretend that we do not see the moment, that it does not exist, that today is the same as yesterday and that tomorrow will be the same too,’’ he says. However, anyone who pays close attention to their own day will discover that magic in the smallest of things, that “with all the strength of the stars,” focuses through us and allows us to perform miracles.

That is an amazing concept, offering clarity on what is really our freedom to choose what to do, where to go, and who to love, based on what our inner voices are telling us. To me, it is about taking chances and saying “yes” to what life brings with a free and open heart. And knowing that every bold step forward is another step inward to really get to know who I am, where I am going, and who will be along for the ride.

My father seems to have been a little ahead of his time on this. But he sure had it right.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

