FRAILTIES, my personal

I walked around all day yesterday with my pants on backwards. Granted, they were only yoga pants, but I still took my daughter to her sewing class, picked her up, went shopping for new tennis shoes, tried on knee braces, got a new golf glove, and then went food shopping in two different stores, before coming home to walk the dog.

It was only when I went to change that I saw the tag was in the front. Something felt amiss all day. But nothing computed. I was too busy running around trying to get it all done to really notice.

This is symptomatic of a larger issue many of us face as we struggle to care for families, hold down jobs, manage households, and still eke out some time for ourselves. You think if you pack the day to bursting you will be able to handle it all and still find some quality of life. But sometimes it’s like blowing a fuse. You don’t realize how close to critical mass you are until it all goes dark.

Like the day I was finally able to get my teenagers together and pack them into the car to pick up something at the mall only to realize as we parked and speed-walked to the entrance that I had left my wallet at home.

A few weeks later, I finally set aside time to return a shirt I had been hanging on to since Christmas and, after checking three times to be sure I had my wallet and the card I had made the purchase on, got to the store and forgot to bring the shirt.

I have a system of checks and balances to keep my life on track. We are all trained to put important dates on the calendar and tack key paperwork to the bulletin board in the kitchen. Reminders must be made days in advance or the favors don’t happen, like money for school trips and home-made cookies for concerts. You get the idea.

Still, there are breakdowns. Like yesterday. A decade ago, well, maybe even last year I might have freaked out at the pants incident. Instead, I laughed. Maybe I’m just that much older. Or more accepting of my frailties. Or maybe in the greater scheme of things backwards pants aren’t the worst thing that can happen.

Yeah, it was pretty embarrassing after the fact, but the way I look at it, at least I had some on.

 

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

