FEVER, spring

Raise your hand if you live someplace that has not experienced the weirdest weather ever this winter. Uh-huh, I thought so.

The winter weirdness where I live can best be described with this little anecdote: Last winter, I shoveled so much snow that I finally had no place left to put it. For months, snow was piled up to the bottom of my guest room window – a good 4.5 feet off the ground. This year, I’ve shoveled twice, and we haven’t once had a snowfall of more than 5 inches.

Even though winter seems to have slept in (knock on wood, it’s only March and this is Vermont), my subconscious seems particularly anxious for spring. I first noticed this during our area’s school vacation week, when half my building empties out, the phones stop ringing and I start to long for something – anything – to pop into my inbox.

This vacation week happened to coincide with a bit of downtime between my deadlines. One day, in search of a particular file, I started searching through piles – on my desk, on the floor, in the file cabinet. Before I knew it, the daylong office cleaning I’d been futilely planning for three years had taken off without any noticeable intent on my part. Within 24 hours, the only piles left were the two overflowing from a couple of blue recycling bins.

The next thing I knew, I was cleaning and organizing the drawers in my upstairs bathroom. Yesterday, the sun shone brightly outside, but I was holed up in my back hall, pulling everything out of my storage closet, separating screws from bolts, finding a container just the right size for every last thing, and putting it all – neatly! – back on the shelves. Ahhhh….

Today, the last day of a much-needed four-day weekend, I checked the outside temp (63! In March!), strapped on my running shoes and headed outside without a jacket. I’ve been injured, literally for years, and even though I had successfully gone through yet more physical therapy last fall, every time I tried to run I was still in pain. I haven’t even tried to run for five months. But today, between walking and running (exactly half and half), I’m proud to report that I traversed just over 4 miles in 47 mostly pain-free minutes. I got home, stretched and downed a glass of water with a chocolate-banana protein shake chaser.

It tasted an awful lot like summer.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

