FIRST priorities

A brand spanking new year has arrived, a natural breaking point at which to throw out the old and start over with a fresh slate. There’s quite a bit of excess I’d like to shed this year.

I could start with the Imageobvious: the creeping accumulation of fat around my middle. But let’s face it – most of my pants still fit, and people scoff if I complain that I’ve gained a few pounds. There are better reasons to eat less and exercise more: I feel better – my mood lifts, my sense of accomplishment gets a boost, and so does my brain.

I’m tired of lugging around all the untrue stories that I tell, about myself and others. The “I’m not good enoughs,” the can’ts and shouldn’ts, musts and shoulds. Judgments that others make about me and which I believe without question; the false assumptions that I make about others. Jumping to conclusions will stop being my primary source of exercise.

I’d like to shrug off my old perspective. I want my life to be filled with opportunities, not obstacles. I crave new adventures that force me to abandon the fears that keep me stuck and toss away the anxiety that feeds them and keeps them company – and keeps me awake in the middle of the night.

The walls of the boxes that frame my thinking could stand a round of demolition; I’ve felt my long-dormant creativity stirring over the past couple of months, and I’d like to direct that surging energy outside that confining space.

Likewise, I’m much closer to tearing down the fortress that has long protected a weak self-image from hostile invaders. The teetering rampart needs a good swift assault from within to knock it down for good. I dare to believe that I’m finally strong enough to withstand whatever comes my way on my own.

My life will be better if I start paying attention to where I am at any given moment. I have missed so much – small gestures of love, the gift of a smile, daily miracles of synchronicity. For myself, and you, too, I wish more joie de vivre, more kindness and generosity in the months ahead.

There are other resolutions for this year, ones that are easier to measure or more traditional. But at this moment in time, increasing my retirement savings seems pretty insignificant next to making my life richer right now.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to FIRST priorities

  1. Michele says:

    Mindy, thanks for writing this post. You hit so many poignant points that are real for me, too. May we reach our personal goals this year!

    • Mindy says:

      For me right now, it’s less about goals and more about taking steps that keep me moving forward on the journey. I just finished a marvelous little book that spoke to all of these things in a warm, funny and incredibly helpful way: “Steering by Starlight” by Martha Beck, who is one of my favorite writers precisely because she’s warm, funny and whose message is incredibly accessible. At the risk of sounding like her publicist, I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who is trying to change their life path.

  2. mmm61 says:

    I wish I could have articulated those resolutions as well as you have. I second them. I’ll add the resolve to be present to the moment – to all that I encounter in life. Happy New Year!

  3. Mindy says:

    Thanks, mmm61, but I’m betting you could have! I hope you keep sharing your insights as a guest blogger — it’s great to have you aboard! Happy New Year to you, too!

  4. Pingback: FAREWELL to 2012 | Women Overboard!

Leave a Reply

