FRIENDSHIP, enduring grace of

By MMM61, Guest Blogger

Yesterday, a woman I have been friends with since our big sisters were forced to babysit us told me about some devastating news she received about her child.  In the face of the news I was overcome with rage and helplessness. I had no idea what to say or do. But I was inspired to know that this was an occasion that called for dropping everything and meeting for a drink. Even though we don’t live far from each other, we are usually so caught up in the demands of our daily lives that we don’t make the time to see each other. Yesterday was different. We both put companionship first. I drove to our meeting place feeling her mother’s spirit urging us to find each other and the comfort that only we could share.

The years provided us with context. No background information needed to be filled in; we both know the story of one another’s lives. So only the present crisis was before us.

It was a crisis that touched on family, faith, betrayal, and forgiveness. As my friend struggled to forgive, I knew I couldn’t yet. She and her loved ones had been the victim of such cruelty that I couldn’t let go of the anger I felt. The betrayal of her trust, and mine, had been too damaging. She looked for a spiritual lesson in it all.  I joined her in that, but found no answers. In fact, I pretty much stopped my usual list of ideas that might help in a difficult situation.  I finally just let it be what it is. Mostly, we were just together.

We settled into a cocoon of presence.  We rode the waves of laughter and tears, sang along with a band that played tunes from our youth, laughed at the drunken women whose voices carried across the bar, and marveled that we were fully middle-aged, yet still the girls we once were. I was awed by her strength and felt so proud of the woman she had become.  After four hours of real time together, I felt renewed.

By truly being together, we weren’t alone.  I felt a Universal Presence wrap around us in a warm embrace. We wished for miracles in 2012. I awoke this morning to realize we had just experienced a miracle.  Whatever was to come, the Universal Presence was with us, and we were still with each other after 50 years.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

