F, WT?

I’d really like to meet Ralph. He’s pretty popular. I get calls for him almost every day and it seems like every retail store and utility company on the planet is just as eager to reach him.

The very first call we got after our phone was installed here four years ago was for Ralph. In fact, we get so many calls for him, at all times of the day and night, I feel like we should be on a first-name basis, except I have no idea who he is, or where he lives.

I don’t know if Ralph once had our phone number, or if he just gave it out randomly to avoid these types of annoying calls from people looking for money they are owed. You’ll notice I’m not using his last name, because, basically, I’m afraid he’ll come after me.

There are some things I do surmise about Ralph, just based on my experience. Like, I think he’s a homebody. When we went to Lowe’s to buy a new storm door the clerk entered our phone number into his computer and Ralph’s name popped up. The same thing happened at Sears. And Home Depot.

I know Ralph likes to shop, and tend to his health, because I get calls from credit companies and medical groups demanding past due amounts. I also think things have been ramping up in Ralph’s world because there are a bunch of recent messages asking us to call 800 numbers for “very important reasons.” When I finally do? The person on the other end starts talking about Ralph.

I patiently explain that no one by that name lives here, and ask to be taken off their list. They apologize. But I don’t think they really believe me. Because they just keep calling. In fact, I just hung up with a guy who listened to my Ralph-doesn’t-live-here spiel and then replied, “You know, this call is being monitored.”

Good! Please! Take my explanation and share it. Spread the word far and wide. Ralph doesn’t live here. I’m not going to pay his bills!

Somehow this has got to stop because I’m getting to the end of my rope. I was thinking just now that maybe a little reverse psychology will do the trick. Anyone out there have Ralph’s phone number? I’d like to send a few of my creditors his way.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to F, WT?

  1. mmm61 says:

    We get calls for Dominque constantly – and I have asked to be taken off the list – but the calls keep coming. We’ve also had a George & someone else. But I guess they did take us off that list. I just don’t even answer the phone anymore.

  2. Michele says:

    You know, I get paranoid sometimes mmm61 and think Ralph is purposefully using our number. But I think it’s probably really that he just found a great way to scam his creditors and who cares about the folks that really live there. I’m starting not to like Ralph.

  3. That must have been really frustrating. Got calls like that before. They were looking for a certain Annie Smith. I told them there’s no Annie in my house and warned the caller not to again or I’ll sue them. Got their phone number and I ran a check on their company profile, too. I’ve read about it at http://www.callercenter.com. The man apologized and never bothered me again. I think he just needed a little firm warning that he had been wrong in calling me.

  4. Michele says:

    Hi, thanks for your comment. Yes, it was frustrating. But I’m hopeful I’ve seen the last of it.

Leave a Reply

