FAIR IS FOWL

Figuring out what to have for dinner every night has become an exhausting chore that taxes any brain cells I have left after a 12-plus-hour day.

My husband, our primary chef, throws up his hands when we look at each other in stupefied silence and say, together … chicken?

Dinnertime always arrives right as I’m on deadline for my newspaper work and unless I’m inspired and remember to get something started during the day, it all falls on him. But believe me, I’m doing my share, carrying the day-to-day, the bills, the kids, the pets … well you get the idea. (I feel the need to defend myself!)

We stare blankly inside the refrigerator as the sun goes over the yardarm as if the sheer length of time we stand there will cause some delicacy that wasn’t in there before to spontaneously appear and save the meal.

I hate to admit it, especially around Mindy, who is an incredible chef, but I don’t like to experiment with ingredients and work up menus. If I decide to make chicken, I’ll throw it in the oven, toss a veggie on to steam, and chop up a salad. Maybe I’ll nuke a potato. Et voila! Dinner!

But today, my eyes were opened in a new way, thanks to my friend Kathy from high school. She posted an item on her Facebook page that I feel compelled to share. Mostly because while you may be secretly shaking your head at my lack of imagination, I can pretty well guarantee that after you see some of these recipes you will be thinking that I, by comparison, am really pretty accomplished.

I laughed until I cried when I read this piece based on 1974 Weight Watchers recipe cards. Go to http://www.candyboots.com/wwcards.html and you can see for yourself. The props in the photos are hilarious as are the combination of ingredients. Someone was into the magic mushrooms. I am convinced.

Take Fish Balls (the caption next to an overflowing bowl points out an impressive set of buoys, too!) Or, Fluffy Mackeral Pudding, Chilled Celery Log, and Caucasian Shashlick. Really, you can’t make this up. And someone actually ate it. So check it out for yourself if you need a smile.

And after digesting all these domestic tidbits I, for one, know definitively what I’m having for dinner tonight. And yes, it starts with a C.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FAIR IS FOWL

  1. Mindy says:

    Michele, you’re far too generous to my alleged culinary skills. I haven’t crafted a menu in years, and I get away with as little cooking as possible. Every few weeks, in a trough of guilt, I’ll pull out a menu or try something new. Tuesday, for example, I tried a new marinade, recommended by a colleague. And then I put it on two gigantic chicken breasts and grilled them.

Leave a Reply

