FINE PRINT, no

I’ve been thinking a lot over the past few days about unconditional love and its ability to transform some of the worst situations imaginable. I wondered, too, if the time could ever come where things just got too tough, too hard, too sad, too awful, or too unbelievable that the love just … runs out.

I used to think everyone elses’ lives were smoother, easier, and missing those uninvited bumps in the road that seem to define mine. But time passed and I learned that all our lives are similar in that way and we all work to make our way through the best we can.

We drop everything for the failing loved one with round-the-clock needs. We weather storm after storm with those in emotional distress. And we go out on a limb with people we love making difficult choices in their own lives, offering support, hugs, a shoulder, or a spare room because we love them.

Or, we find functional ways to help by looking up resources, going along to appointments, helping to make plans, and then crying, too, if the plans don’t work.

Loving unconditionally can be torture, because it often means freeing someone to be who they are, or go where they must, without you. It means living with grief over lost hopes and dreams. But it also means joy in a full heart in having loved to capacity and beyond, which is what I have come to believe is what makes us fully human.

How fragile we all are, and so desperate to make our way, and find our mark, in an often unforgiving world.

I realized the other day, as I poured out my love to someone who needed it, that the recesses could never run dry. The abject relief and gratitude I received in return made me know there would always be plenty more where that came from.

Thank you for loving me, I was told. My response was … how could I not?

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FINE PRINT, no

  1. Mindy says:

    MIchele — As I read this, I was applying it to a situation in my own life that I’m sure is completely different from your own — and it was still so true, and so universal. Love is a double-edged sword, but where would be be without it? This is so lovely, and so poignant.

  2. Michele says:

    Thanks! Loving so fully comes naturally, but that doesn’t make it any easier, either.

Leave a Reply

