FINAL days

I hope you have your bags packed, because on Saturday, according to fundamental evangelists, you might be going on a trip. Although where you’re going, you probably won’t need anything but a clear conscience.

Word about The Rapture is everywhere. It’s all sort of new to me because I don’t remember anything about this particular phenomenon growing up Catholic. Maybe I missed that religion class where they talked about people floating up into the sky to their heavenly reward while the rest of civilization gets hammered.

We heard about Jesus coming again, of course, and anticipated it in the prayers we said like robots at Mass. But the image of people just lifting off to salvation is a foreign concept.

It’s hard not to second-guess gloom and doomsayers because people have been predicting the end of the world basically since it began. I have a lot of basic concerns about the rapture concept, like, if our whole family heads up (hopefully,) what will happen to our dog and cats? Will they go too? Does that mean bills are now null and void? Who will take care of my plants?

In all seriousness, I would love to meet Jesus and get answers to lots of questions. I’m a pretty big fan. I’ve found a deep devotion later on in life where as a girl I thought religion was pretty much a drag, except when you really needed something to happen.

I remember kneeling on the front lawn with a friend and praying desperately to the Virgin Mary to get the green light for a sleepover. And then of course the fevered prayers not to be murdered by my parents after crashing the car, or spending the night in jail (OK, it happened once when I was 19 and it was totally not my fault!)

I have to say I find it hard to really believe that tomorrow is the day. Of course, if it is, I will really regret this post. So, I’ll say in advance that I hope God has a sense of humor. Of course I’m getting with the program. I’m ready to go. I was kidding!

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

