FRIENDS, you gotta have

I was reflecting on what friendship really means, a heavy topic that I consider a lot because, to me, having friends and close connections is one of the greatest gifts there is.

On one hand, I thought, I have a small circle of nearest and dearest, and then the climbing number of Facebook “friends” that as of this afternoon had reached 444. That sounds high, but, believe me, it’s actually low compared to some people I know.

My oldest friend and I have known each other since I was 1 and she was nothing, as I’ve reminded her a lot. It’s rare to know each other’s history, be as close as sisters without being related, and still hold a front-row seat to each other’s defining moments over a lifetime. I start a sentence, she finishes it. Enough said.

Another friend, who I haven’t really seen in decades for more than an hour at a time was as close as you can get when I was a girl. Then, we disappointed one another, and now, all these years later, are finding our way back to common ground as the individuals we have become.

Others, like Mindy, I have only known for a few decades but our kindred spirits surely have been simpatico for much longer than that. And there are others. A friend from my single life who I rediscovered in the last year is a married mother of children, as am I. How far from our old wild days can we be, yet still, the bond that linked us then endures far beyond the restaurant where we worked. Because when you have a heart connection, neither time nor space can break it.

And then there are friends from school, from jobs in other states, and the link of family, of course … ties so strong life has no meaning without them. And the others? Strangers. Friends of friends. People from your old hometown who just ask you to be friends. Who are you again? It’s OK. I’m fine with it.

Some people insist that you don’t cross the line. I’m not one of them. My frontline friends know who they are. The rest are all friends in the making, and I don’t mind taking a chance on someone who wants to be my friend on Facebook or otherwise. My father used to say there is no stranger who can’t be made a friend. I really think he was right

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FRIENDS, you gotta have

  1. mmm61 says:

    You may have been 1 and I may have been nothing – but boy is it nice now to be one year younger!

    And, I loved that you used the word simpatico – it was one of Dad’s favorite words.

    Too bad that life is so damned busy we can’t see each other more often – right now I am, gratefully, crazed with work. Maybe we can arrange a joint birthday lunch.

  2. Michele says:

    I wish I was crazed with work. I have to do something about that. But for now, a joint birthday lunch would be great. I don’t remember JA saying that but of course … I do remember Tuesday girl. :o)

Leave a Reply

