FRAME of mind

Today, I am celebrating Put Your Life In Perspective Day, a little-known holiday I just made up to try to focus on the positives in my life, following a month of frustration that has hung like a weight around my neck.

Inspiration came in a blast of hot water in the shower, my primary thinking ground.

Like most people, my day is busy, driven by deadlines and responsibilities. For me, it’s writing and editing, running a household, carting kids everywhere (or loaning my car), and making it to my own appointments and commitments.

Never mind cleaning, wrestling with the ever-present, what-to-have-for-dinner dilemma, tending an epileptic dog with a “going problem,” and a pair of 12-year-old twin cats who think they are superior. 

I think the operative word is busy. And it has seemed lately like everything had gone wrong.

But here are the positives. I have projects. A lot of them. Projects make money, which keeps the whole thing going, and may pay for a vacation one day soon. That is definitely a good thing.

And, I work from home, so I can focus on jobs, go out for a walk, or even take a nap if I want. I can make my phone calls in my pajamas. No one knows if I have bad hair. Excellent!

My family is involved! People going in 20 different directions is a good thing; that means they have purpose and are probably happy. Yes!

On the personal front, a needy dog keeps me walking, which tightens muscles, and helps with weight loss. I have a long way to go, but so does the dog. So, we’ll do it together. And heading outside constantly wasn’t so much fun in the snow, but is now forcing me to notice spring unfolding all around me. Gorgeous!

I could go on, but the point is, stress is an ugly thing. If it doesn’t kill you it can age you beyond recognition. On the plus side of that, I have no wrinkles! If I’m stressed to the max, at least it isn’t showing. Awesome!

I suppose I could cut back on personal activities to rein in the family schedule, like my writing class or my tennis league, but why would I want to do that? Life is for living. Somehow it all fits in. Yeah, some days are better than others. Some are awful and should be banned.

My effort today reminded me that what I perceive as a negative has just as many positive components, depending on how I look at it. The job is to shift that focus more often and try to wring the stress from it. The main thing I reinforced is that I am really living my life, not viewing it from the sidelines. And there is a lot to be said for that.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FRAME of mind

  1. mmm61 says:

    I’m hoping your change of perspective is contagious. Lately, I feel like everything is a colossal effort – even the mundane tasks of everyday life. Perhaps, I’m not busy enough.

  2. Mindy says:

    I, too, am on a personal campaign to look on the bright side of life. Some days it’s tough. I’m not pulled in as many directions as Michele — or a lot of people I know, for that matter — so for me it’s more a matter of being able to make it a priority and keep it in my sights as much as I can.

  3. Michele says:

    Changing perspective isn’t easy. In fact, it’s a little bit of a struggle. But if I don’t I’m worried the stress will do me in. That’s a pretty good motivator.

Comments are closed.