‘FESS up, now

Dearest Readers,

Have we mentioned lately how much we love you? If not, shame on us. You are patient, forbearing, kind, generous. We never hear a cross word from you. You say lovely things. Some of you allow us to bombard you every time we write something. We could go on. And we probably will!

Here’s the dilemma: each day, when we log on to WordPress, we are greeted by a panoply of featured blogs. Some of them are really quite excellent. Some are a little inane. And yet, on all these sites, there are comments: pointless comments, rote comments, pithy comments, insightful comments, funny comments, ridiculous comments, even stupid comments – but no matter what you think of them, there are comments. Lots of them.

So, our new campaign is to get more of you participating in our comments section. We know you are reading, and that is fantastic. But now we really want to start a conversation on our site.

It’s great that you have posted messages of support on Facebook and in individual emails, and even in person! But now’s a good time to try to pull it all together right on Women Overboard!

We really, truly, want to know what you think. So in addition to encouraging you to get involved, we have decided to start with a poll to take your pulse. Jump on in, or over the side with us!

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘FESS up, now

  1. oldancestor says:

    I just randomly strolled in, never having seen or heard of this blog before. And I am leaving a comment, because I am without fear.

    Fortune favors the bold, people!

    Leave comments.

    Carry on.

  2. oldancestor says:

    They don’t even do the “your comment is awaiting moderation” malarky here. How much easier can it get?

    • Mindy says:

      Thanks for stopping by, ancestor! And two comments — you rock. Where the heck have you been all our blogging lives?

      And yes, we make it as easy as we can, oh fearless one.

      • oldancestor says:

        That’s my superpower: Leaving weird yet interesting comments on people’s blogs.

        Maybe I’m not saving lives, but that market is already covered.

  3. Michele says:

    i love old ancestor already. are you sure we aren’t related?

    • oldancestor says:

      I don’t have your picture in a frame on my entertainment center, so I’m thinking probably not. If you’re any one of these: German, Scottish, Irish, English, Norweigan, or Native American, there’s an ouside chance.

      On the other hand, if you married into the family (I have an available nephew), I’m sure you’d fit in just fine. You can bring Mindy over on holidays. If it makes you feel more comfortable having someone you know there.

      **whistles, wondering why everyone always goes silent when I try to talk to them**

      • Mindy says:

        We wonder the same thing all the time, but there’s no whistling involved. I went quiet because I’m apparently older than you — exhausted, I was forced to toddle off to bed. I appreciate the invitation via Michele, although being of English, Scottish and some vague Scandanavian descent myself, I may have more right to be there than she does.

  4. mmm61 says:

    Well, I comment sometimes, but I have fallen into the habit lately of “liking it” on Facebook or leaving a comment on Facebook. Of course, sometimes I just don’t have anything intelligent to say. I do think it would be more fun with more people commenting – so hello oldancester.

    • oldancestor says:

      Hi, mmm61.

      I haven’s left an intelligent comment yet. I think I’ve lowered the bar to the point that a chimp would feel comfortable leaving a comment.

      To illustrate my point, I spilled grape juice on my laptop just after I typed that(not making that up). I’m sorry if my letters are purple.

Leave a Reply

