FAST friends

I’ve owned a laptop computer for three weeks, and I’m already completely addicted to it. I carry it with me around the house, take it to bed, sit with it in front of the fireplace. I read while I walk from the kitchen to the living room. I’ve barely been in my office.

I realize that I’m headed down a dangerous road. But for the moment I don’t care. I have a spotty internet connection, but when it loads – whoa, baby, is that sucker fast. I can stream video without the picture stuttering! I still need to install several software upgrades and clean things out a bit more, but I’m fully operational at this point.

I finally took the plunge because my old desktop has reached the decrepit age of 5, and it’s only a matter of time before she blows. Having no TV reception, I also rely on my computer to watch news video – now the sound actually matches the image. I can’t believe I’ve lived this long with a stone-age processor.

No longer tied to my desk, I’ve been reacquainting myself with my living room. I sit up in bed to check my morning email. I’m waiting for a chance to search online for recipes while I’m in the kitchen. I read the news online while I’m fixing breakfast in the morning.

I don’t totally trust my new best friend yet – I’ve still got the old computer for backup, but soon I’ll need to bite the bullet, clean it off and retire it for good.

I’ve always been a slow technological adapter. It took me years to get a cell phone. I live just fine without an iPad or iPhone, and I keep the web function of my Blackberry turned off. But my new little MacBook is already a part of the family.

There may be a 12-step program for this, but I’m not quite ready. Soon I expect I’ll have to start setting a daily lapto time limit – I’m getting nothing else done. But now that I’ve gotten a taste, I can’t imagine being locked into a modem ever again.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

