FALLING ahead

I was going to let myself sleep in this morning, but woke up before my alarm, as usual. I turned on the computer and made a stab at writing a couple of posts, but they weren’t flowing, so I came downstairs to make breakfast. I was met, at 5:45 am, by a slowly brightening sky. I brightened considerably myself until I remembered:

Daylight savings time is almost upon us.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m as happy as anyone to live a day filled with light. It’s just that my government’s opinion of when the sun should rise diverges considerably from mine. I prefer my daylight the way Mother Nature planned it. The latest federal shifting of our national hours cuts early light when it’s most available, and gives it back only after it doesn’t make a difference any more. Morning is broken.

Let’s hear it for the dawn’s early light. Early to bed, early to rise is just how my body clock works. Mostly what I want to do in the morning is work out: if I don’t do it then, it almost certainly won’t get done. When it’s dark outside and the temperature hovers around zero, my nice, cozy warm bed is far more alluring than 45 minutes on the bike.

So for me, an earlier dawn means a return to the day as it should be. These few weeks before sunrise is unnaturally shoved forward an hour are just a tease. Yes, I appreciate the light at the end of the day, just not as much. By 5:30 pm, my day is winding down, my energy mostly spent.

No, I’m not going to go out and ride my bike when it’s -2, daylight or no. But even here in Vermont, spring is coming, late and messy as it might be. It won’t be this cold for a lot longer. I want the light to catch up, not mover farther away. Can I go out and take a walk after work? Sure. Will I? Time and energy will tell.

Before I know it, summer will be here, and there will be enough light at both ends of the day to make everyone happy. For now, I’ll just have to rise and shine on my own.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

