FROSTED flakes

My porch is under there somewhere.

When I first accepted a job in Vermont, my Canadian friend Murray (I was in grad school with his wife) tortured me with tales of what I was in for: colored flags attached to car antennas (to see vehicles coming when the snow banks blocked your view) and shopping center parking lots with electrical outlets between the rows to plug in your engine block heaters.

He was just teasing me, but I’ve been thinking about Murray a lot this morning. I’m not at work: I’m typing this in front of a lovely, toasty warm gas fire in my living room, as I watch the snow blow by and wonder where my porch went. My chances of getting out of my driveway, much less out of my street, seemed so bleak at 6 am that I just gave up and decided to stay home today. Happy Monday to me!

I know, I’ve bitched about winter already, acknowledged acceptance of my fate, and vowed to “go with the snow.” But this has been an extraordinary winter, and as two more feet of snow fall against my house and swirl around the yard, I will just note four salient facts:

  • As of 5 am, we had received over 9.5 feet of total snow accumulation for the winter. That doesn’t include the torrential rain we got yesterday morning or anything we will have gotten after 5 am today.
  • The cops in Burlington have reportedly given up even trying to drive their cruisers today, opting instead for a 4-wheel-drive-only policy.
  • We set an all-time record for snowfall in the month of February.
  • We’re scheduled to get another storm Thursday.

There will be a lot more shoveling later (cardio! core work! weight lifting!), but in the meantime, I have an entirely unexpected day stretching ahead of me. I plan to enjoy it. After I shovel, I will look forward to a mug of hot chocolate and a hot bath. As I sit and soak, I’ll contemplate this: Winter won’t last forever.

Nope. Mud season is just around the corner.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

