FULL steam ahead

Most of my good ideas and interesting thoughts materialize when I am in the shower, washing dishes, or mowing the lawn.

I know that’s when my mind is at rest and there is room for something other than my daily list of to-dos and worries about kids and my elusive waistline to pop in and simmer around for a while.

If I’m lucky I will remember the aha! moments from the time they explode into my consciousness and I can find a pen and piece of paper, or sit down at my laptop and bang them into a document.

I was getting ready to head out to meet with a new client this morning and as I watched the steam swirl around the bathroom ceiling I started thinking about my day yesterday. It was odd that on a Sunday, which is supposed to be a day of rest, and when most people are off doing something fun or taking naps, I put in a 9-hour work marathon.

I also spent several hours cleaning and cooking and hanging around with the family, and even stole off to work on my novel. The day seemed about 50 hours long. Where did all that time and energy come from?

It is an interesting question because sometimes I write about how there is no time to do the things I want, or even the things I don’t want to do, as life rushes forward at break-neck pace. And I’ve written a bit about my efforts to slow down and breathe and be in the moment of my life, not looking back or forward at it.

But there seems to be two sides of the issue, I’m coming to see. Slowing down to make time. And happy to be putting in a lot of time.

I’m finally realizing that there has to be a marriage between the two that relies on personal choice, as well as the quality and content of the things to be done. If I was getting ready to go paint the side of the barn in subfreezing weather (which we actually had to do once to qualify for an FHA loan) I might not be as enthusiastic as getting my writing ready for a new class that starts tonight with an author I admire.

Or maybe it is just all chocked up to biorhythms and yesterday was a good day, and some other day this week I’ll collapse under it all. For now I’m loving the energy, the accomplishment, and the happiness that comes with it, which is a lot nicer than just putting one foot in front of the other to slog through the day.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FULL steam ahead

  1. Mindy says:

    What you wrote about the marriage of time rings so true for me, Michele. I’ve been struggling with the same thing, but had a perfect weekend recently: I got lots done, but also made sure that I made time to relax. I suspect that the trick is learning how to separate time into bigger chunks: chunks for relaxing and chunks for working. It’s when they get all jumbled together that I lose track and it all just flies by.

Leave a Reply

