FRUITCAKE

Dear checking account:

You know as well as I do that Christmas can turn you into a fruitcake. In fact, you’ve seen the nuttiness first-hand with me.

The good news is that I have put the brakes on my lunacy just in time to be able to slide into Christmas Eve without any stress tomorrow. This is momentous, and a first. Are you happy for me?

You have seen from the volume and frequency of my purchases that I have crammed an entire shopping season into just under two weeks. I have buzzed from store to store to online ad to overnight shipping icon to try to accomplish what some people space out all year. Which of course is complete insanity. Yet this is what I do. Every year.

And while I have sought out the meaning of Christmas, with music and events and the Book of Luke, which I love, I have to confess to you that often my thoughts have secretly been focused elsewhere.

Like: Are the piles even? Did I get enough? Will people like what they get? Should I run out for a little bit more, just to be sure? OK, I got more, but maybe just a little bit more is better? Is it?

Yesterday I went downtown to pick up a few more Christmassy thises and thats. And then found myself heading to the mall, where I stood in line for a very, very, very long time at a store we all love for just a little bit more than even that.

But now I am done. I’m beyond tired and crazed. There. Is. No. More.

Which I am certain you are seeing as a cause for celebration. What a blitz! Today and tomorrow I shift the focus from buy, buy, buy, and buy some more to wrap, bake, rest, chat with the teenagers, and watch Christmas movies.

I’ll go online to check Facebook, not Amazon.com. I’ll look at my Borders Bucks email alerts next week. And I’m excited to be attending the first Christmas Eve service in the church down the block since it burned in 2009.

So, thanks for supporting me during this crazy time, and for staying in the black. I’m already feeling a lot less “out there” now that I’ve retired my debit card. And if I need money for anything else? Don’t worry! I’ll use cash.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

