FIGHTING fire with fire

I’m beginning to get a little concerned about Christmas morning. Not for any of the usual reasons. I mean, we’ll have plenty of presents. And we don’t have to travel, which is so nice, so we’ll get up relatively early and have a big breakfast, then take naps all day.

My concern has to do with the getting up part, though, since last year my son woke us up with an air horn. Which he had good-naturedly threatened to do, but no one really believed he actually would do, until he did it.

Much to the amusement of my daughter, who distanced herself from it, in case there was trouble. But who thought it was hilarious, nonetheless, especially when the loud screetch caused my husband to launch to the ceiling as if he had springs on his back.

This is a teenager with an unusual sense of humor. It’s a little like living with Dennis the Menace, but different. For example, on April Fools Day for a number of years he balanced a cup of water over a door frame, hoping upon hope for that cartoon moment where it falls and drenches the unsuspecting person below. Eventually, my husband, the perennial victim, burst through and then stopped in shock, dripping wet. What’s happening?
My son loves pranks, to say the least. And I can honestly say I never know what to expect.

But, this year I have decided I will be ready for him, no matter what trick is up his sleeve. Because now I have the best ammunition for good behavior there is, which is the car keys. Which I am also solely in control of. And which he is desperately in need of for most of his daily activities.

So here’s hoping that the most explosive surprise we see as we open our eyes on the 25th is that there is no surprise. I know my husband’s nervous system will be grateful.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

