FLOODS and fuses

I have had a very strange day. I could tell you about it, but not in under 400 words. Or 4,000. I’ll just say this: When two different colleagues break down in tears in front of you in one afternoon for two ostensibly different reasons, something weird is going on.

I finally left the office and drove home, marveling that my expensive winter windshield wipers have been doing a great job in the snow, scraping moisture off every part of my windshield except the area directly in front of my eyes. Still, I made it home safely.

I fixed dinner and paid some bills, but sadly, my day had followed me home. Now I seem to have a breaker switch that flipped, but I can’t figure out which one, (I swear I tried them all) so I have two extension cords running up from my basement, connecting the kick heater in my kitchen and the sump pump (yes, it’s been 14 degrees outside for a week, but I have water draining into my dirt basement) to an outlet in my dining room so my basement won’t flood. The plumber is coming at some point this week during his off hours, so I guess I’ll just have to hope that he also knows more about electricity than I do. And that I don’t set the house on fire.

I’m practically a professional worrier, but at some point even I have to give up the ghost. I can cram only so much into my sleepless nights, and by now I have far exceeded my capacity. Mercury is in retrograde, Michele reminded me yesterday, and I am definitely having a Mercury-in-retrograde month.

So I raise the white flag, surrendering my fate to the heavens. Mercury turns direct Dec. 30. Until then, I’ll just try to keep the lights on, my head down, and the rubber boots handy.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

