FALLING FLAT

There’s an expression about how the best-laid plans go awry. And it is so true.

I wrote recently about my quest to really enjoy Christmas this year, but something that sounds so easy has been a lot harder than I thought.

I started off strong at a Dec. 3 party that was so great it inspired me to come right home and decorate my house. That was a good thing! Then, I planned to go to a Christmas gathering for my tennis group, but the whole family got sick.

I baked and baked and have nothing to show for it since the hungry sharks I live with ate everything that came out of the oven. I’d planned to give cookies as gifts and have a big pile for the rest of us to chip away at. Back to the kitchen I go.

I put off going to a bunch of local concerts for a regional performance last weekend that promised to be fantastic. It probably would have been if I’d thought to buy tickets in advance. Luckily, I called before heading off in the rain Sunday since I learned they’d been sold out for weeks.

Christmas shopping started out strong. I am the primary gift-giver/buyer/shopper in this family (with the exception of Santa, of course) so I wanted to stroll from shop to shop, humming carols, thinking about that perfect gift. But the reality was I got bombarded with work and had to start shopping online to save time.

Only to find that a lot of what I need can’t be found there, or was sold out, or was the wrong color and size, or doesn’t exist, so I am going to have to brave the mall after all.

No, things haven’t gone the way I’d hoped so far in any big, different, really Christmassy kind of way that would set the season apart from any other. But I may have set myself up for a fall, too.

Nothing ever really measures up to a Hallmark moment, and maybe it doesn’t need to, either. In the last two weeks I have had some really good moments, and there are sure to be more over the next 10 days.

My daughter’s 8th-grade band concert is tonight. And there are some nice Christmas lights to look at on the way.

I’ll still be rushing around tomorrow. But tonight I’ll take some time to get it right. And try to remind myself again that sometimes the little moments are at the real heart of the season.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FALLING FLAT

  1. fyears says:

    Sounds to me like you’ve been doing just fine at having a lovely Christmas season. Decorations, baking, a school Christmas show. That’s a lot, right there. More than most people manage.
    There is nothing more fraught with unrealistic expectations than the Christmas season. Entire industries are devoted to persuading us of what it takes to have a perfect Christmas, despite all our instincts and experience that tell us otherwise.
    Well, maybe the wedding industry is more overlarded with unrealistic expectations, but most people only go through the worst of that once, maybe a few times if they have to marry off their kids….

  2. Michele says:

    You are so right, fyears. Thanks for reminding me. I get so caught up in trying to get it right I can’t see sometimes that a lot of it already is.

  3. Mindy says:

    I might vote for New Year’s Eve as the champ of unrealistic expectatations. But Christmas is a close second.

Leave a Reply

