FUGGEDABOUTIT

It would be easy to twist up into an emotional pretzel if I obsessed over every little thing that goes wrong in life.

Like the dog barking incessantly at 6:30 on the only morning I can sleep in. Or the painters who are late and may not show up at all, after promising — again — that they would come.

There are the teachers who said they would gather makeup work for my young one and only remember as I am standing there in the school office, once it is too late.

Or the store clerk who left the security button on my new pants, which I only discovered as I was putting them on, before a party. And, of course, the grocery bagger who left the last two plastic bags worth of everything I needed for dinner out of my carriage, which became a problem when I was in up to my eyeballs in mid-creation.

Frustrations like this can pile up sometimes until you fear you will spontaneously combust. I often lay the blame on Mercury in retrograde, which for you non-astrology buffs is when Mercury, the ruler of Geminis like me, wreaks havoc on everyday life.

The car starts clanking and the computer breaks down. You get hurt, banging into anything and everything in your path. Misunderstandings lay in wait around every corner.

These are what I call the “seatbelt” days, when it just makes sense to wrap yourself in virtual bubble paper and stay home where it’s safe.

Yes, it is more than annoying when people let you down on a daily basis, but sometimes you have no control of anything except yourself.

You can’t make the painters consume fewer beers the night before they are supposed to come over and do your work. But you can pick new painters next time. 

You can’t make the store clerk more conscientious or force the teachers to place your child at the top of their list. You just can’t.

But you can change your own choices. Soldier on. Try to let it go. And try to cut everyone a little more slack. And then, when you’re having a bad day, which you know of course you will, you can hope someone does the same for you.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

