FOCUS

I’m feeling a little overwhelmed, but it’s December, so I figure that I’m in good company.

It’s not the holidays that have knocked me off-balance – it’s my job. To say that there’s a lot going on where I work is a little like saying that a marathon involves a little bit of running. And it’s not only the volume of work, it’s also the nature of it.

I work for a complicated organization that is in the midst of trying to deal with a lot of change, with a whole storm front of more change looming on the horizon. I work with two different parts of the organization: in one, the clamor for change is coming from the bottom up. It has leadership scrambling to try to quell the uproar, and leadership keeps pulling me in off the bench for an assist. On the other side of the organization, the call for change is coming from the upper levels. There’s a full-out crusade to impart a new message, change up the philosophy. This part of the company has everyone in my office scrambling: hours are getting longer, stress levels are getting higher.

I’m spending so much energy trying to get through each day at work that I’ve completely lost my focus at home. Dinner? Um, is there a box I can pull from the freezer? I have no idea who I need to get Christmas gifts for, or what I’m getting them if I can identify them. Is trash day Wednesday or Thursday? I spend all my brain reserves during daylight hours, and once the sun goes down my mind sets along with it. With all the stress I’m barely sleeping, which doesn’t help.

I need a vacation but don’t have time to take one. Even an extra day off is looking unlikely. So I think that this weekend I’ll take a mental vacation and focus on something I love: Christmas. I’m with Michele – every year, it zooms by, and I miss it. But this weekend I’ll decorate, decide, organize, order – maybe even stroll downtown and enjoy the lights. The stress can wait until Monday.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

