FEET, don’t fail me now

My body is a little, um, uncooperative. It’s never behaved like all the cool kids’ bodies. For one, it pretty much refuses to tan. It was never very fast. It always injured easily, so I never pushed it very hard. A decided lack of coordination was overcome by a fortunate sense of balance that literally saved my ass on more than one occasion.

As I gradually started working out more, the injuries (mostly minor) piled up, and at this point I’ve lost count. Aging doesn’t help. I’m on physical therapist No. 5. I think No. 5’s a keeper.

It turns out that I have loose joints. I am – in physiotherapy-speak – “hyper-mobile.” To overcome this, you strengthen muscles you didn’t know you had and have certainly never heard of. If I were to strengthen every muscle that would keep me from being injured, I would do nothing but PT exercises all day.

After months of the latest two rounds of PT, I’ve finally been given the green light to start running. Of course, I overdid it, but after a few days off, I tried again. By the time I was done, I had completely new pains. Right hamstring, right quadriceps (maybe it was the hip flexor), back lower right quadrant of my butt, and my knees got into the act at some point along my walking/running route.

I took a spinning class last week, trying to save my right whatevers, and the middle of my right foot started cramping. Soon, the cramp left my right foot and started up in my left toes. By the end of the class, it had jumped back to my right toes.

And yet, I keep pushing through. I go back to PT today, and I hope that after one more visit I’ll be released and on my own. Yes, the injuries slow me down, but I’m determined to get in the best shape of my life. I determine this a lot, and then I injure myself and have to start over again. I’ll never be the marathon runner that several of my friends are, but that’s OK. For me, just to be able to keep going is a victory.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

