FATE, twist of

Life pretty much boils down to two choices, I’ve learned. You can say yes to it. Or no.

And in the moment, either is life changing, in almost every way.

Yes, or no. To a new opportunity. A new way of thinking. More responsibilities, or even a favor for a friend.

To opening up to the possibility of something, or someone. To stepping out of your comfort zone. Or someone elses’. To filling up your plate of duties to overflowing.  And adding one more. Or not.

It’s easier sometimes to just say hell no, when I feel like I’m drowning in the “shoulds” of my daily routine. But I learned a lesson this weekend, about the impact of saying yes or no, that I think will haunt me always.

Last spring, my already overbooked 13-year-old asked to try out for cheerleading. The last thing I, the exhausted chauffeur, wanted was to add another destination to my GPS. That meant requisite rides to four-day-a-week practices all of August, the twice-a-week practices once school started, and home and away games every Sunday.

Where is my life in all this, I asked. Never mind the angst when she and scores of others tried out the year before for too few spots, and then waited futilely for the call that never came.

No. No. NO! I can’t go through that again, I said. You can’t go through it again. It’s too much money. I don’t want to drive. I said everything I could think of to say.

And still she asked. And pleaded. And bargained. And wanted it so badly, that I had to change my mind and say yes.

Time went on and I drove and drove. The season ended. And Saturday was the regional competition in Boston with hundreds upon hundreds of girls of all ages, from all over.

And my young one, who over the months has bloomed with athleticism, sportsmanship, and confidence, went on with her squad to fulfill a dream.

And as she cradled the huge First Place trophy with her teammates and cried tears of joy I watched my daughter become a champion. All because her mother said yes.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FATE, twist of

  1. mmm61 says:

    The only reward for all the chauffeuring is to see our kids achieve their goals. It’s a great feeling.

  2. Michele says:

    So true, mmm61. There is nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

