FALDEROL

I was thinking about the letter F, since it dominates our life here at Women Overboard, and found some interesting info to share.

Many of the following facts and figures are largely thanks to Dictionary.com, so I’ll credit it now to get it over with.

They say the letter “F” has a bad reputation in the English language because it starts the most famous of all swear words. I, on the other hand, am not sure this is such a bad thing, since sometimes no other word will do. It is certainly one of my favorite vocabulary words. And, it apparently is for others, too, since I hear it everywhere I go.

F also equates to negatives like a failing grade, which no one wants to see, especially not on a report card, but it also begins some of the most positive words in our lexicon: like family, friends, fortitude, and fettucine.

F is the 6th letter in the alphabet, the lowest music note represented on the treble spaces (remember the mnemonic FACE?), and “F” Scrabble tiles are worth four points each.

F also represents one of the cardinal goals in my business, which is, of course, gathering facts, and, hopefully, facundity. And, it’s the basic underlying tenet of my friendship with Mindy, which is fun and fantastic!

I’m learning a lot about words I’ve never heard of before that I may be able to use in my writing. Like floromancy, or the belief that flowers have feelings; fantasticate, to fantasize; fringillaceous, pertaining to finches; and fermi, or a unit of length that equals one quadrillionth of a meter.

I’ve never really thought about any alphabet letter so closely. But by doing so it has helped me to focus, and look more closely under the rocks in my life, and find things to talk about that we all share. And that’s … felicificative!

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

