FULL boil

There is nothing like sinking into the depths of bubbling hot water to return you to your core. It’s wombish, and definitely a life saver when you have been pounded into submission by a masseuse.

I was in a lovely hotel this weekend with a massage scheduled later Saturday afternoon. It’s been 20 years since my last (and only) other massage so I felt I was due.

After 50 minutes of muscle pressure that seemed like a Mac truck parked on my back and neck I was released back into my own recognizance, and could barely walk. Actually, I could barely get off the table.

So, the first stop once mobile again was the hotel’s hot tub.

My traveling buddy and I had snuck off for a little weekend girl time, leaving hubbies and kids to their own devices for about 36 hours.

We slipped out of our cover-ups and were stepping into the water at the same time as an enjoyable couple from Florida. A mother and daughter carrying paperbacks weren’t as fast on the uptake and only made it to the steps before we were already in. 

The tub legally held four, although I thought it could hold more. But a rule’s a rule, apparently.

Here is the dilemma of the day: Said mother and daughter were unhappy. They sat on the side of the tub, dangled their feet in, and proceeded to stare at us. Continuously. As if they could say, “Hey, get the hell out of there. We want in!”

I was slightly annoyed and tried not to be intimidated. But it was uncomfortable. They stared. Sighed. Exchanged glances with each other. Stared. And sighed some more.

I wouldn’t have cared if they had climbed in. They might have added to an already animated conversation. There was plenty of room for all of us, boiling away like lobsters. But they didn’t.

The staring continued. So after a shorter time than I might have liked we got out and headed back to the room. They plunged happily in. Mission accomplished.

I’m not exactly sure about the ins and outs of hot tub etiquette, but it seems to me it’s all about being patient and taking turns like you learned as a child. And manners are always required.

I wish someone had reminded them.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FULL boil

  1. mmm61 says:

    Clearly, those two had not had a massage.

  2. Michele says:

    Good point, mmm61. A chill pill might have been in order, too!

Leave a Reply

