FLYING the coop

 You won’t be hearing much from me for the next couple of days because I am running away from home.

Figuratively, I guess. And literally.

I’ve written a lot about my hectic life. The endless chauffeuring. The deadlines. The responsibilities and the need-to-be-in-five-places-at-once stress that abounds around here.

And, sadly, my overwhelming tendency to put everyone elses’ needs before my own. That’s a bad combo.

Earlier in the week I decided to do something about it after a call out of the blue from one of my sisters. Tonight I will pack a bag and tomorrow morning I will point my car south to Newport where I am meeting her for a four-years-overdue date.

We are going to walk endlessly around that beautiful ocean-side community breathing in the salty air that we love. We’ll get massages and then sit in a hot tub like queens, which we also love.

Needless to say, we will also love the champagne we will probably sip at some point, and the laughs I know we will have. (Because that’s how it always is.)

One of the greatest gifts in life is having someone you can depend on completely. Who is fun. And always there. That’s who my sisters are to me.

Like I said, the concept of the overnight in a hotel came up four years ago as a birthday gift for me. But we were too busy to make it happen. Then life interfered. Another year or two went by. And then she called. Can you make it this weekend?

This sister lives just this side of Manhattan. I’m near Cape Cod. So it is a meeting in the middle, of sorts, that couldn’t have come at a better time. There are, though, probably a million reasons why I should stay home this weekend. Among them are that I have stories to write. The house is a mess. The kids have activities. The yard is covered in leaves.

But the bigger reason why I really should go, and will, is that time is passing so quickly, as Mindy wrote so eloquently the other day. And in a blink, the last four years disappeared. Before I know it, this moment will be gone, too.

So, this time I plan to grab it while I can.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FLYING the coop

  1. mmm61 says:

    HAVE FUN!!!!!!

  2. Michele says:

    Thanks, mmm61! I did!

Leave a Reply

