FRIENDS forever?

A couple of weeks ago, I made the 40-minute drive after work to meet an old college friend and her daughter for dinner. Mom had brought her offspring East to look at colleges, allowing for a fun, if fleeting, reunion.

This woman was the first friend I made in college, one of my two best friends in my undergraduate years. We lost touch after we both got married, but she reached out and reconnected just after I started through my divorce. She could not have come back into my life at a better time.

We’re both busy, she more than me, and so our contact is limited. But we had a great dinner and a great time. Her daughter has grown into a lovely, poised young woman, and I would love to have her close by, a lure for her parents to venture into my territory on a regular basis.

Another couple of friends and I have a cobbled together a sporadic email relationship. One, a Louisville native and current resident, is a horse fiend, and he’s been recommending racing movies, hooking me up with Zenyatta YouTube videos (go watch if you don’t know what I’m talking about: www.youtube.com/watch?v=ud_XPH6Eix4). Over 30 years, I’ve forgotten exactly what his quirks are and his sense of humor is like. It’s been fun remembering.

I have reconnected with several old friends over the last few years, but most online reunions have been short-lived. It turns out that a lot of friendships, while cherished, are situational. It’s rare, I think, to find a true friendship that can endure all the changes of situation and geography that many of us go through. Michele and I, too, went through years when we were out of touch. But we took up like we had never been apart.

I’ve resisted the urgings to join Facebook; the last thing I need is something else online to distract me from the life that’s right in front of me. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t occasionally feel the tug. Some people can never have too much money. I can never have too many friends.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

