FAILING TO FUNCTION

Once upon a time I could keep my schedule straight and got everyone where they needed to go. I had time for myself, too. Everything ran smoothly.

It was easier when the kids were young and they didn’t do as much. I knew when the next doctor or dentist appointment was, or whose turn it was to host a play group. 

But lately life is out of control. I need a calendar and a planner to help my memory keep up, and I’m barely hanging on.

I hit the wall this afternoon and missed an important appointment because I forgot to write it down — because I was probably catering to someone else at the time.

It’s especially frustrating because I have tried to make myself a priority this year. I scheduled personal doctors’ appointments, started playing more tennis (which I love), seeing more movies, and finally, after nine months of pain from a fall, arranged to get physical therapy on my knee.

That was a big one, since I’ve been lugging one child to her physical therapy sessions since the summer. What an irony.

Lately, life is a blur of drivers ed and cheerleading, the orthodontist, and the orthopedist. Friends and dates and rides to the mall. And somehow running a business and a home, at times, admittedly, like a gerbil on a wheel.

So today, the calendar said kickboxing. I drove my son there. Then shopped with him for weightlifting supplies and got him a haircut. I felt I was forgetting something. But no idea what. (See related post on memory loss.)

I came home and walked the dog, made some calls, got my daughter from the bus, and then played back a message from the physical therapist that I’d missed our first appointment.

I love my family and want them active and involved, but this is crazy. One child will be driving soon, which should help. But overall, I’m lost in a nuthouse. Is it the same for anyone else out there?

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FAILING TO FUNCTION

  1. mmm61 says:

    I used to have a GIANT wipe-board calendar in my kitchen. Everyone’s schedule was on it and there was room for messages and reminders. My mantra was, “if it’s not on the calendar, it doesn’t exist.” Then I had my kitchen painted and couldn’t bear to think of all that dry ink landing on my freshly painted walls, so I threw out my beloved calendar. I still miss it.

Leave a Reply

