FRANTIC

Today started off stressfully.

I was mired in a situation concerning my youngest when the middle child started jangling the car keys.

Which was teenager-speak, apparently, for, “Come on. I’m late for my appointment. But I want to get some more practice in on the road at the worst possible time and drive there myself, making us that much later.”

I was obsessing about the three phone calls I needed to return, the four others I needed to make, and the large pile of dishes awaiting attention in the kitchen when my lovely yellow lab aimed a pair of limpid brown eyes into mine.

And said, “Oh, Mommy. I love you. You are the best mommy. And you need to ignore everything else and pay attention to me, because I have to go out!! RIGHT NOW!!!!! AGAIN!!!!!”

Of course she didn’t express her need in just that way, but instead, in the form of an ear-splitting string of barks that peeled my nervous system from my spine.

I NEED TO GO OUT NOW. I MEAN IT, she said.

My son: WE NEED TO GO NOW. IT’S IMPORTANT. I MEAN IT.

The calls: YOU NEED TO MAKE US NOW OR THE PEOPLE WILL BE GONE. WE MEAN IT.

In fact, the only things that weren’t screaming were the dishes, but I knew it was only a matter of time: WE’RE STILL IN HERE! (AND … WE MEAN IT!!)

In the end, I went with the car ride, strapped into the passenger seat with a calm smile planted on my face as we careened along the highway at 70 m p h. Then, later, home. Finally. In one piece. And when I opened the door? There was the dog. MY TURN??

I took her out and she ”went” as she does about every hour all day. But that’s due to meds so I am OK with it. Before we came back to the house, though, Cali started galloping through the colorful piles of leaves, then threw herself down and propelled in circles on her side like that big guy on The Three Stooges.

Biting them. Tossing them up with her nose. Pure canine comedy.

I was sick from laughter as I dragged her back into the house a while later but pretty stress free.

Until I opened the door, the dog ran in, and the calls beckoned from my office, HELLO??????…

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

