FILE, into the (e)circular

I hate to admit it, but email from BarackObama.com goes directly to my online trash file, and then out the door. As well as notes and newsletters from WebMD, Make Big Money from Home, and a handful of other automatic emails.

It isn’t that I don’t love my president, I do. And I do like up-to-the-minute medical tips, and the latest scoop or technique to get good-paying freelance jobs. Lord knows the latter, in particular, is part of my daily routine.

But it’s beginning to feel like my email in-box is gathering as much junk mail as I get in, well, the regular mail! And between the two of them I’m drowning.

Lately, there’s been dozens of (real) mail offers to take advantage of great, low, once-in-a-lifetime interest rates. Letter after letter, after postcard, after bulletin from brokers all over the country. And now they’ve started emailing. I’m in the midst of a refi with my regular mortgage guy, folks, but thanks for asking.

Don’t forget the avalanche of offers to do roofing, siding, new windows, landscaping, pest control, and plowing. Carpet cleaning, floor sanding, new cabinets, bathroom tiles, The Maids, and grocery delivery.

There’s a sense of desperation in these solicitations, whether it’s a major political party asking for money, the Army seeking a sign-up, or colleges that think my 13-year-old is a junior in high school. Yes, it’s never too early to start looking around, I say to one caller, who was following up on the e–junk mail, and snail mail.

But, seriously, can we at least wait until she graduates from 8th grade?

In my online in-box there are notes from CVS, Stop and Shop, and Hollister. American Eagle, Verizon Wireless, and my insurance company. In fact, almost every supermarket and retailer I’ve spent money in lately is hoping I’ll spend more. eBay misses me. And AARP is offering a deal on long-term care benefits.

Hey, back up! I just turned 50.

There isn’t time to go through it all and get to anything else. So, I’m tossing the paper into the recycling pile, and the emails into the trash. I hope I don’t miss an important note along the way. But if my curiosity gets the best of me, I know where to look.

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FILE, into the (e)circular

  1. Mindy says:

    I got my first invitation to join AARP when I was about 38, which of course totally pissed me off, so I have an established bias. I just can’t bring myself to join, but it’s killing me because they have discounts, and I have a really hard time passing up a good discount.

  2. Michele says:

    I joined for exactly that discount reason. But, I just have a really hard time flashing the card!

Leave a Reply

