FINDING our way

It turns out that this blogging thing can be a little time-consuming. For two women who constantly want more time in their days, starting a blog is not exactly a predictable next step. On the other hand, it’s self-generating, material-wise. Here I am, blogging about blogging! It’s a little bit like an Escher print: where does it start and where does it end?

Even though we’re several posts into this thing now, perhaps a little meta is in order. Let’s start with a brief guided tour. First, the site is a work in progress. Neither of us has prior web experience, so we’re learning as we go. (“We should have tags!” “What’s a tag?”) Don’t worry, we’ll figure it out eventually, when we can find a few free hours; for now, we’ve got the basics down cold. More or less. Sure, we can post, and comment. But how do we shrink the font? How on earth did that second post suddenly become (mostly) a different font?!? We don’t know – it’s a mystery. (a free post to whomever can identify what movie that’s from). We welcome suggestions and/or guidance – we’re not control freaks.

Next, Michele will mostly be your day blogger (wave to the people, Michele): she works from home, and while she’s overwhelmed, she’d rather be doing this instead of what she’s getting paid for, and she can do it during the day without being fired. I will mostly be your early evening and, occasionally, your early morning blogger; I have a full-time day job, and believe me when I tell you that they’re not paying me to do this. Unfortunately, I can’t really stay up past 10 (and that’s pushing it), so my usefulness is limited. I will jump in and post an occasional daytime comment, but only when I can’t help myself and no one is looking.

Finally, we promise we’ll start trying to post photos; looking for photos online is very time-consuming. And we can post polls! We think those look fun. Tell us what else you’d like to see (RSS feeds, comment subscriptions, anything else). Just make sure you tell us what the heck it is you’re talking about.

About Mindy

I am divorced, no kids, working full-time in corporate communications. There are never enough hours in my day, mostly because I insist on hygiene, food, exercise and clean dishes. Really, how do women with kids do it?!?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

