FRIED

There should be a rule that you can’t open medical emails while you are working, or you will get nothing done as you worry you have every disease they describe.

Sometimes there is useful information in these little missives which pop in with unsolicited advice on everything from stress-reducing foods to picking the best ob-gyn.

But then there are the lists of symptoms.

Today’s topic: memory diseases, which are particularly fearful because lately I can’t remember much. Or, what I’m thinking comes out of my mouth uninvited, tricky in the wrong company.

Do you have any idea of what you had for breakfast? I usually don’t.

My short-term memory is shot as I run at full tilt, juggling writing for The Big Paper, caring for kids, and accommodating a dog who always has to “go,” while handling other freelance jobs, household tasks, and trying to have a life.

Half the time I’m in my pajamas if there are no outside engagements.

Here’s just one example: Yesterday, in my role as mother, I slogged a little more than halfway up the front hall stairs before I stopped. Blank. … Where was I going?!?  No clue.

Back downstairs and into my office, where I remembered the bottle of pain medicine I was supposed to bring down for my 13-year-old, who just had her tonsils out.

Up I went again. And brought it down. Except that my daughter was in her room. Upstairs.

Life gets jumbled when there are too many balls in the air. Toss one high, and another one falls. With such a balancing act I guess it should be no surprise that at times I can hardly think.

I was about to delete the unbidden email, like so many before it, when another string of symptoms of the same illness made me laugh … basically, confusion, inappropriate clothes, and bad hair.

No worries there. That just comes from working at home!

About Michele

I am a freelance writer with three kids, two cats, and a dog with thyroid disease. I'm bouncing back from a divorce and making the most of every day. There is so much beauty around me. I am grateful!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FRIED

  1. mmm61 says:

    I’ve been known to get halfway through a sentence and forget what I was saying!

  2. Michele says:

    I hear you on that, mmm61. I often call my kids by the wrong names. Although I mostly get the first letter right. Is anyone else out there losing it?

  3. Mindy says:

    So much of my mental energy goes toward keeping track of the dozens of loose ends at work and when my bills are due that there are no spare brain cells for anything else. It often astonishes me that I can even do that (and frequently I can’t).

  4. Michele says:

    I’m sitting here trying to remember if I put deodorant on 10 minutes ago.

  5. fyears says:

    I keep a Secret stash in the office for that very reason. And another one in the car….

  6. Michele says:

    fyears, that’s a really good idea. i think everyone in this f-group should have a Secret stash in the office and the car … deodorant, toothpaste, hair clips, prozac …

  7. Michele says:

    … passport, map of caribbean, quick escape plan …

Leave a Reply

